Foundation Stage and Early Years

"The Early Years Foundation Stage is well led and managed by its coordinator. There is a well organised induction system for children to help them to settle quickly when they join the school. Close links with parents help promote children’s good achievement. Workshops for parents, for example on how reading is taught, help them support their children’s learning at home."

The Foundation Stage is a crucial time in young children’s development.  The children enter the Foundation Stage at the age of three (FSUN/ nursery) and move into Key Stage One when they are five (in the year in which they turn six).  Learning through play provides the children with important and fundamental opportunities to develop skills and knowledge across the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum known as ‘Early Years Outcomes’

The Foundation Stage curriculum (Early Years Outcomes) is organised into seven areas of learning:

Prime Aspects
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Physical development
  • Communication and language
Specific Aspects
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

The prime aspects underpin all areas of learning and need to be in place before the children can develop the specific aspects.  Therefore, more time is given to explore and develop the prime aspects in FSUN (nursery).

Early Years

Early Years